• Sat / 7 July 2018 / 12:09
  • Category: Politics
  • News Code: 97041608813
  • Journalist : 71477

8 ISIS terrorists executed in Tehran over 2017 Parliament attack

8 ISIS terrorists executed in Tehran over 2017 Parliament attack

Tehran (ISNA) – Eight members of Daesh terrorist group who were convicted in the 2017 deadly attack on Parliament and Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini’s mausoleum in Tehran have been executed.

According to the public relations of Tehran’s Islamic Revolution Tribunal, the 8 terrorists had direct cooperation with main agents in martyring and wounding a number of innocent compatriots and with knowledge and awareness of purposes and intentions of the agents of the terrorist group, had supported them in terms of finance and weapons.

Those executed named as Soleiman Mozafari, Esmail Sufi, Rahman Behrouz, Majed Mortezai, Sirous Azizi, Ayoub Esmaili, Khosro Ramezani and Osman Behrouz.

The death sentences that had been issued by Branch 15 of Tehran’s Islamic Revolution Tribunal back in May had been sent for implementation to the Prosecutor’s Office.

The terrorists had been convicted of participating in crimes punishable by death.

In June 2017, the Daesh Takfiri terror group carried out simultaneous attacks on Iran's Parliament and the Mausoleum of the Founder of the Islamic Republic Imam Khomeini. A total of 22 people - 17 civilians and 5 assailants - were killed during the attacks.  

The eight convicts sentenced to death are among a total of 26 people who were arrested in the aftermath of the attacks mainly in operations along the borders with Iraq and Turkey, according to Press TV.

The cases of the remaining 18 Daesh members who were involved in last year's attacks in Tehran are still under legal investigation.

End Item


You are replying to: .