• Sun / 24 October 2021 / 10:33
  • Category: Politics
  • News Code: 1400080200917
  • Journalist : 71477

Top scientists receive 2021 Mustafa Prize

Top scientists receive 2021 Mustafa Prize

Tehran (ISNA) - The 2021 Mustafa Prize was awarded to five Muslim scientists in different fields of study.

In the 2021 Mustafa Prize Award Ceremony held on October 21 at Tehran’s Vahdat Hall, five scientists were recognized as the laureates of the 4th round of Mustafa Prize, MSTF Media reported.

Mahdi Saffarinia, CEO of the Mustafa Science and Technology Foundation (MSTF) inaugurated the event by his speech, welcoming the scientists, scholars, and audience who attended this round of Mustafa Prize Award Ceremony from around the world.

Sorena Sattari, head of the Mustafa Prize policy-making council, during his speech at the ceremony said “I am very glad that this international prize provides a network of scientists of Islamic countries to solve the problems according to science and technology,” adding “I hope the Mustafa Prize brings opportunities for more friendship in the near future”.

He expressed his happiness over holding the event during Muslim unity week, which is celebrated between two dates associated with the birth of Prophet Muhammad in Iran.

Sattari appreciated the idea of the Muslim unity week saying that unity in the Islamic society is very important to cope with challenges.

He talked about the representatives of Islamic society during the golden age of Islam. He named Rumi, Omar Khayyam, Avicenna, Al-Farabi, Muhammad ibn Musa al-Khwarizmi, and Ibn al-Haytham as the luminary figures of that era.

He said that these figures were luminaries of science and culture in their era and they were beyond borders. As Prophet Muhammad said, the scientists are heirs of prophets, he continued.

Hence, today Islamic society can provide innovation and development according to their commonalities in having Holy Quran, religion, and Prophet Muhammad, he added.

He appreciated a friendly relationship set up between Muslim countries based on science and technology.

According to the experiences of Iran, transforming into an innovative society can overcome challenges with international collaboration in the field of science and technology, he added.

Sattari said that the Islamic countries have common cultural fields to have joint projects.

He said that the Mustafa Prize aims to use science and technology as a factor to make opportunities for friendship and collaboration in Islamic society.

Hassan Zohour, head of the scientific committee of Mustafa Prize, made a speech on the details of the 2021 Mustafa Prize. He elaborated on the works of this round’s laureates as well.

Cumrun Vafa and Zahid Hasan shared the Mustafa Prize in the field of All Areas of Science and Technology.

Bangladeshi Professor of Princeton University, Zahid Hasan, won the Mustafa Prize for “Weyl fermion semimetals”.

“This achievement is the outcome of my research for more than 15 years,” Hasan said in his Mustafa Prize acceptance speech.

Harvard University professor from Iran, Cumrun Vafa, was awarded the Mustafa Prize for his work “F-Theory.”

“I present this Prize to the Foundation for Supporting Fundamental Sciences that is now being established in Iran by my colleagues,” Vafa said in his Mustafa Prize acceptance speech, adding “I hope this initial investment attracts more investments for helping the development of basic sciences in Iran and the region countries”.

Mohamed H. Sayegh, Muhammad Iqbal Choudhary, and Yahya Tayalati were the 2021 Mustafa Prize laureates from Islamic countries.

Mohamed H. Sayegh from Lebanon received the Mustafa Prize for “Novel Therapies to Improve Renal and Cardiac Allograft Outcomes”.

During his Mustafa Prize acceptance speech, Sayegh shared the elements of success in academia which he said he has learned “over the past 35 years”.

Muhammad Iqbal Choudhary for “Discovery of fascinating molecules with therapeutic applications” was another laureate of the 4th round of Mustafa Prize.

“For decades I have worked tirelessly and selflessly with the single aim of contributing to the alleviation of the suffering of people through my scientific discoveries. This award has strengthened my resolve to continue this work with sincerity of purpose and selfless motivation,” Choudhary said.

Yahya Tayalati won the Mustafa Prize for “Observation of the Light by Light Scattering and the Search for Magnetic Monopoles”.

Different performances from the home countries of each laureate, such as music ensemble from Iran and Qawwali from Pakistan, performance from Beirut during the Award Ceremony, added zest to the event.

The Mustafa Prize, established in 2012, is a top science and technology award granted biennially to the top researchers and scientists of the Islamic world in four categories: “Life and Medical Science and Technology”, “Nanoscience and Nanotechnology”, “Information and Communication Science and Technology”, and “All areas of science and technology”.

The Prize is granted to works deemed to have improved the human life, have made tangible and cutting-edge innovations on the boundaries of science, or have presented new scientific methodology. The laureates in each category are awarded USD 500,000/- which is financed through the endowments made to the Prize. The laureates are also adorned with a special Medal and a certificate.

End Item

  • در زمینه انتشار نظرات مخاطبان رعایت چند مورد ضروری است:
  • -لطفا نظرات خود را با حروف فارسی تایپ کنید.
  • -«ایسنا» مجاز به ویرایش ادبی نظرات مخاطبان است.
  • - ایسنا از انتشار نظراتی که حاوی مطالب کذب، توهین یا بی‌احترامی به اشخاص، قومیت‌ها، عقاید دیگران، موارد مغایر با قوانین کشور و آموزه‌های دین مبین اسلام باشد معذور است.
  • - نظرات پس از تأیید مدیر بخش مربوطه منتشر می‌شود.


You are replying to: .